BNZ Board

Our Board of Directors oversee the overall strategic direction of the bank.

Doug McKay


ONZM, BA, AMP (Harvard)

Doug McKay has been the Chairman of BNZ since July 2015. He is also a non-executive director of National Australia Bank (NAB).

Doug brings considerable commercial experience to the BNZ Board of Directors. His previous roles include senior positions with Auckland Council, Carter Holt Harvey Limited, Goodman Fielder New Zealand Limited, Independent Liquor (NZ) Limited, Lion Nathan Limited, Procter & Gamble Limited and Sealord Group Limited.

Doug is a director of Genesis Energy Limited, IAG New Zealand Limited, IAG (NZ) Holdings Limited, National Australia Bank Limited, Ryman Healthcare Limited, Tourism Transport Limited and Wymac Consulting Limited. Doug is a member of the Institute of Directors in New Zealand and also Chairman of the Eden Park Trust Board.

Anthony Healy

Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer (CEO)


Anthony Healy was appointed Managing Director and CEO of BNZ in May 2014.

As a career banker, Anthony brings considerable breadth and depth of experience across banking and financial services, having held a number of senior executive and director-level roles in a career spanning over 20 years in New Zealand, Australia, Asia and the Middle East. Past roles have included Director of BNZ Partners, CEO of UDC Finance Limited and Deputy Group Managing Director of AmBank Group, Malaysia.

Anthony is a director of Loyalty New Zealand Limited, a member of National Australia Bank’s Executive Leadership Team, a Trustee of the International Centre for Entrepreneurship Foundation and Co-Chair of Champions for Change. He is a past non-executive Director of JB Were (NZ), The Icehouse Limited, ICE Funds Limited and Chair of New Zealand Bankers’ Association.

Prudence Flacks


Prudence Flacks was appointed as an independent non-executive director of BNZ in October 2009. She is Chair of the Board Risk Committee.

Prudence is a barrister and solicitor with extensive specialist experience in commercial law and, in particular, banking and finance and securities law. Her areas of expertise include corporate and regulatory matters, corporate finance, capital markets, securitisation and business restructuring.

Prudence is a consultant to Russell McVeagh and was previously a partner at Russell McVeagh for 20 years. She is also a chartered member of the Institute of Directors in New Zealand and the New Zealand Shareholders’ Association inc.

Prudence is a director of Chorus Limited, Mercury NZ Limited and Planboe Limited.

Mai Chen

LLB (Hons) (Otago), LLM (Harvard) FNZIM

Mai Chen was appointed to the board of BNZ as an independent non-executive director in April 2015 and is chair of the People and Remuneration Committee.

Mai is a barrister and solicitor with significant commercial and business experience. She pioneered the practice of public law in New Zealand, including co-founding Chen Palmer, a leading law firm specialising in public and administrative law, legislation and public policy as well as employment law. Mai is also the Adjunct Professor in Commercial and Public Law at the University of Auckland.

Mai has served on the Securities Commission and on the advisory board of AMP Life Limited (NZ), on the NZ Board of Trade and Enterprise’s Beachheads programme, on the Asia New Zealand Foundation board, the Royal NZ Ballet board, and on university and polytechnic councils. She was also inaugural chair of NZ Global Women, and was instrumental in establishing the BEST Pasifika Leadership Programme.

Mai is a director of ASIANZ CEO Limited, Chen Palmer Limited and the Superdiversity Centre for Law, Policy and Business. Mai is also a member of the Institute of Directors.

Bruce Hassall

Bruce Hassall was appointed as an independent non-executive director of BNZ in December 2015. He is Chair of the New Zealand Risk and Audit Committee.

Bruce is a chartered account and was previously Senior Partner and CEO of PriceWaterhouseCoopers New Zealand. Bruce has considerable commercial and strategic experience, together with technical audit, finance and governance knowledge. His areas of expertise include financial reporting and capital raising and he has extensive industry knowledge across a wide range of sectors.

Bruce is Chairman of Farmers Trading Company, a director of Fletcher Building Limited and Marivan Holdings Limited. He is also a member of the University of Auckland Business School – Advisory Board and a member of NZ China Council.

Kevin Kenrick

Kevin Kenrick was appointed as an independent non-executive director of BNZ in July 2016.

Kevin is currently CEO of TVNZ and has led the state broadcaster through a significant period of digital evolution, managing its transition from a free to air offering, to its highly successful, multi-platform offering including TVNZ OnDemand.

Kevin held the role of CEO of House of Travel from 2008 to 2011. He is a Director of Freeview Television Limited, NZOOM Limited, TVNZ International Limited and TVNZ Investments Limited, and is Chair of the Good George Brewing Advisory Board.

Philip Chronican

BCom (Hons), MBA (Dist) GAICD, SF Fin

Phil Chronican was appointed as a non-executive director of BNZ in October 2016. He was appointed as a non-executive director of NAB in May 2016.

Phil has extensive banking experience following a 35 year career within Australia and New Zealand. In his most recent executive role he was responsible for ANZ’s Australia division, with specific responsibility for ANZ’s retail and commercial business.

Prior to joining ANZ, Phil had a long career at Westpac, in executive roles including Group Executive Westpac Institutional Bank and Chief Financial Officer.

Phil is the Chairman of NSW Treasury Corporation and a director of Banking + Finance Oath and the Juvenille Diabetes Research Foundation. 

Angela Mentis

B.Bus, GDip Applied finance

Angela Mentis was appointed as a non-executive director of BNZ in December 2016. Angela has extensive business, retail and investment banking and wealth management experience spanning more than 27 years.

Angela was appointed to the role of Chief Customer Officer – Business and Private at NAB in August 2016. Prior to that she held the role of Group Executive, Business Banking, from August 2014. She has also held senior roles as Executive General Manager, nabBusiness - Australia’s largest SME business bank - and Executive General Manager, NAB Private.

Before joining NAB, Angela was Head of Premium Wealth Services at BT Financial Group, Global Head of Structured Investments, Westpac Institutional Bank and Vice President Syndications, Agency and Capital Markets, Australia & NZ with Citibank Limited. She also worked at Macquarie Bank.

Angela is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Senior Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia (FINSIA).

Louis Hawke


Louis Hawke was appointed to the board of BNZ as an independent non-executive director in February 2017. He has had significant experience in consulting, private equity and financial services. Louis has held Managing Director roles in retail banking at ANZ and General Manager roles at Westpac and Advance Bank in retail and commercial banking.

Prior to financial services, Louis was with McKinsey & Company, where he specialised in strategic evaluations and takeovers, and was an Economist with the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet in Canberra, providing advice on economic issues and policy.

Louis has a strong interest in how customer behaviour and technological advances are impacting traditional business models and has been involved in a number of innovations and start-up ventures.

Louis is currently a director of Vendor Panel Pty Ltd.