Help & Support


Verified by Visa

BNZ Business First Lite Visa, Business First Visa, BNZ Advantage Visa Business and Corporate/Purchasing cards come with an extra layer of security – Verified by Visa – to help prevent unauthorised online use of your cards. It works automatically in the background, and you don’t need to create an account or remember a password – most of the time you won’t notice it’s there.

However, sometimes you’ll see a BNZ screen embedded within the checkout page or as a popup (like the ones shown below) and be asked for information. 

3ds prompts examples

If you notice a popup has been blocked, you may need to set your browser to allow popups from https://cardsecurity.bnz.co.nz.

What do I do when the BNZ screen appears?

  • Add the requested information to confirm you’re an authorised user. Your information is then checked by us to make sure it’s correct.
  • If it’s correct, you’ll return to the merchant’s website to complete your purchase.

If you can’t provide that information, your purchase may be declined and your card could be locked. 

What happens if my card is locked?

While your card is locked, you won’t be able to use it to buy from websites that use Verified by Visa.

To unlock a BNZ Advantage Visa Business card that has an Access Number on the back, call BNZ on 0800 299 699 (from within New Zealand) or +64 4 931 8394 (if you call from overseas) between 6:30am and 11pm. You’ll be asked questions to confirm your identify.

To unlock any other BNZ business or Corporate/Purchasing card, you should call the person in your business who looks after your credit cards. They’ll need to contact BNZ on your behalf.

Why would I see a BNZ screen?

There are several reasons why this screen can appear, for example if your card is being used for a large or uncharacteristic purchase. This will happen only when shopping online at participating merchants (participating merchants usually display a logo on their websites). It’s a further way to help keep your cards safe.